What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do I apply a gradiant to a photoshop image?

Bill Thompson

Hello Forum. I am new to photoshop.

How do I apply a gradiant to a photoshop image?

I have tried looking at a number of online blogs and instructions but they were the wrong version -- or they assumed too much knowledge that I did not have and thus stepped over some steps.

I am using Photoshop version CS6

Specifically, what I am trying to do is this. I have an image that I want to fade to white on the left side. In other words, if you look from the right side to the left side, it will appear as if it fades away into white. I want it to be a very uniformed fade as well.

Is there a good tutorial somewhere that I can follow?

Dear Sir,

I Want You to Make a New Layer by going to the Layer Menu, Layer> New>.

Now, go to Edit> Fill and Choose White from the Drop Down Menu.

Now Go to the Layers Palette, and Make Sure Your New White Layer is there.
Highlight the New Layer by Clicking on It.

Now, You will Add a Layer Mask. It is the Small Icon at the Base of the Layers Palette that looks like a
Small Square with a White Dot on it. Press that Icon and You Will See what is Called a Layer Mask appear next to the Image on your New White Layer.

A Layer Mask, is made to Hide and Reveal Portions of an Image. You Highlight the Layer Mask by Clicking on it. You can then Paint on it with Black Paint, or various Shades of Black by adjust the Opacity. The Level of Black Paint from 0 to 100% Percent Black determines How Much of the Image Below will Show Through the Layer You are Working on.